Life at the bottom of the Fashion Caste

Short Cuts

I have not cut my hair in approximately three years. And, after countless dye jobs from many a sad box, my ends are split and crunchy. The last boy who did my hair was so concerned, he immediately recommended me to his friend, insisting I let her chop my length. I cringed away, crying “No! I’m trying to grow it out!”

But it seems breast-length is as long as it’s going to get, so long as I insist on all the flat-ironing, hair spraying, and box-dyeing I’ve become so accustomed to. Upon this rather tragic realization (that I will never have the long, voluminous locks of the Giseles and Lordes of the world), I’ve become more and more swayed by the “long bob,” all the rage like, three years ago when I decided to grow out my hair. I recognize this irony.

My first inspiration was the vintage inspired look that Gwynnie totes in The Royal Tenenbaums.

margot-bus

But I’m afraid it’s just a wee bit too flat for me. So I turned to one of my beauty icons, the irreverent Dana Scully, of course. Is she not SO gorgeous? I love her dusty rose lips and neutral brown eye  makeup. Plus, the hair. In all its bouncy glory.

scullyshort

I also really love Tavi’s latest rendition of the above look.

tavishort

Tavi

And then I realized, isn’t it just Alexa’s hair that I really want? Slightly disheveled, often wavy with pretty, blunt bangs.AlexaBut you can’t have the derivative without mentioning Ms. Chung’s obvious references and long bob, blunt bang foremothers. We’ve got Jean Shrimpton and Jane Birkin, natch.

Jean

JaneFurthermore, there are a few more modern gals who’ve really done it right. Check Elizabeth Olsen’s curly rendition. Leandra Medine has been rocking the carefree version for just about ever. And someone else, who remains mysterious, but has great hair nonetheless.

Elizabeth

Leandrashortcut1Anyways, the debate continues. Every other day I convince myself in or out of the decision I’ve already made. I’ll probably end up with a very long bob, and only chop two or three inches in the end. You know, just to get acclimated.

Until next time,

TFS

Leave a Reply

