Life at the bottom of the Fashion Caste

Birthday Bash

Okay, so officially I’ve been 20 years old (young, I’d like to say!) for three weeks now. But I thought I’d post a recap of my really great birthday weekend just for fun.

A few weeks ago, P and I took a day trip up to Duluth, MN for some much-needed away time.

We also went to pick up my extremely amazing birthday gift! P got me a Duluth Pack, a world-renowned brand that campers, hikers, scholars, and your run of the mill hipsters have adored for over a hundred years. Their products are guaranteed for life and made exclusively at their shop in Duluth.

For ttylusa’s first edition of the now-weekly Kitties and Pretties, we went to shoot some pictures at Enger Tower (below), a park at the highest point in Duluth. It was a perfectly crisp, cool fall day.

Look at the incredible views! It was raining over in the south western part of Duluth, cool huh?

We weren’t there for long, however, when a sudden storm blew in from the lake and rained us out.

Afterwards, we took a great drive up Highway 61 along the coast of Lake Superior which has some outstanding views (above!). We took a late supper at an incredible restaurant called Pickwick’s; the meal was exquisite.

Besides the tantalizing menu, Pickwick’s is a great place to grab a bite as it’s story is entrenched in Duluth’s interesting history. It’s a little fuzzy but check out the picture of the night prohibition was repealed in 1932; the pub section still looks exactly the same. I love thinking of the droves of people who have passed in and out of this restaurant over the years. I’m a history nerd, what can I say?

After dinner we drove back home tucked inside of our cozy car, amid a deluge of rain.

On my actual birthday, I went to breakfast with my family at a favorite cafe and was later treated to tea and apple pie at home. Sometimes I feel a little too old for birthday gifts but my parents got me theย complete French and Spanish editions of Living Language (similar to, and arguably better than, Rosetta Stone).

I was thrilled because I plan to one day enroll in the master class at Lesage in Parisย to learn tambour from the legends whose work you see in collections from Balmain to Oscar de la Renta. Obviously that won’t be for at least four years but I’m going to start brushing up on my French in preparation!

At this point in my life, I adore birthdays. I use them as an excuse to be indulgent, spend time with friends and family, and maybe, just mayyybe, splurge a little on a shopping spree. What are your birthday traditions? Are you one of those paint the town red types? The hide under your covers, wear all black, pretend it didn’t happen types? Join the conversation in the comments below!

ttyl,

Maria Nichole

All photos courtesy of Peter Elliott Eaton

Leave a Reply

